Chapter History

Kappa Pi Omega Chapter History

The vision for the establishment of Kappa Pi Omega Chapter began as a “Tale of Three Cities” (Dothan, Enterprise, and Ozark, Alabama).


Sixteen energetic, erudite, and excited ladies who lived in the Wiregrass shared a unique vision in the late 60s and early 70s.  This was the vision of continuing the dynamic legacy of their great sisterhood, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., by forming a graduate chapter.  They all had joined Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. during their undergraduate studies at various colleges and universities.  From Dothan, they were:  *Anna Lois Berard, Gloria Frazier, *Edna McLoyd, Oretha Mathis, *Deloris Potter, *Lucille Smith, and Francina Williams.  From Enterprise, they were:  *Bessie Mullins, Dolores Simmons, and Jean Wrather.  From Ozark, they were:  Shirley Baxter, Paulette B. Booker (Love), Brenda Harper, LaJosipha McLeod, *Sandra North, and Ruby Williams. These ladies formed an AKA Interest Group.


The interest group met monthly with their energies aimed at one major objective, the formation of a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  Membership increased with each new meeting date.  The record shows increasing membership to move from six to eight at the second meeting.  Eleven members attended the third interest meeting.  Twelve members attended the fourth and fifth meetings.  Officers were elected at the fifth meeting.  Paulette Booker (Love) was elected to serve as the president of the Interest Group.  The meetings, scheduled for Sunday afternoons, were held alternately in Dothan, Enterprise, and Ozark, Alabama.


The eleventh meeting was quite memorable.  In May, 1975, the Interest Group met in Dothan at the home of *Deloris Potter as the group could formerly move to the title, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Interest Group.   It had achieved the required number to form an Interest Group.


On February 29, 1976, the members of the Wiregrass Interest Group met at the Ramada Inn in Dothan, Alabama, for the chartering ceremony of Kappa Pi Omega Chapter, the ensuing workshop, and the public reception.  Since 1976, Kappa Pi Omega Chapter has inducted the following Presidents.

*Deceased Charter Member

pasted image 432x295176x120.png

1st President:   Paulette B. Booker (Love)

2nd President:  Dolores Simmons

3rd President:   Katrina Faulk

4th President:   Francina Williams

5th President:   Brenda Harper

6th President:   Sharon Kelley

7th President:   Dolores Simmons

8th President:   Linda Hiller

9th President:   Dolores Simmons

10th President: Sharon Kelley

11th President: Linda C. Garrett

12th  President: Jerlyn C. McCleod, MD

13th President:  D. LaShay Smith

14th President:  Jerlyn C. McCleod, MD

15th (Current):  Teresa A. Townsend

The membership of this chapter includes talented and professional women who are dedicated to carrying on the traditions, ideas, and goals established by the founders. As community leaders, the women of Kappa Pi Omega Chapter have pooled their resources and talents to help improve the quality of life in Wiregrass Area.

**Deceased Members

Nehata Gavin

Gloriadine Horne

Dollie Roberts

Julia Rose (Diamond)